Hooverphonic – The Night Before

Friday, February 11th, 2011

As posted previously, Geike Arnaert left Hooverphonic and was replaced by newcomer Noémie Wolfs. Noémie appears on their latest album release, ‘The Night Before’, which is also the title of their first single. This makes their 3rd lead singer (4th if you count Kyoko Baertsoe of Lunascape, who was once their live front vocalist). One thing is for sure, Hooverphonic keeps trucking along and the band members are willing to make adjustments as necessary! What do you think about the new sound and vocalist?

Website | MySpace | Facebook | Twitter

Hooverphonic – 2 Wicky

Friday, February 11th, 2011

Hooverphonic is a Belgian trip hop/electronic group formed in 1995. The band originally called themselves Hoover but later changed their name to Hooverphonic due to other groups using the Hoover name. The band achieved international recognition through the inclusion of the track 2Wicky (from A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular) on the soundtrack to Bernardo Bertolucci’s 1996 film Stealing Beauty (Io Ballo da Sola). The original members of the group were vocalist Liesje Sadonius, keyboardist Frank Duchêne, bass guitarist and programmer Alex Callier, and guitarist Raymond Geerts.

Sadonius left Hooverphonic on amicable terms shortly after the release of A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular and was replaced by Geike Arnaert in early 1998. Duchêne left the band after Blue Wonder Power Milk. After 6 albums and a hits compilation it was announced that Geike Arnaert was also leaving the band. Hooverphonic continues to release music and perform with their new lead singer Noémie Wolfs, who appears on their latest release, “The Night Before”.

Source: Last.FM